AFL News

Tigers lock away double-chance with win over Crows

Tigers lock away double-chance with win over Crows

AN eye-catching Dustin Martin cameo has helped Richmond bank a top-four AFL spot with a 44-point win against Adelaide.

Martin’s stunning 17-disposal first-half underpinned the Tigers’ 12.5 (77) to 4.9 (33) triumph at Adelaide Oval on Saturday.

The reigning premiers will finish third and meet Brisbane or Port Adelaide in a qualifying final.

The Crows collect the club’s first wooden spoon since entering the competition in 1991.

Ex-captain Taylor Walker became Adelaide’s all-time leading goalscorer, passing Tony Modra’s 440 goal tally with a first-term major.

Walker achieved the feat in his 203rd AFL game while Modra took just 118 games from 1992-98.

Walker’s record-breaker was his sole goal for the game as Adelaide were held to its lowest-ever score against Richmond.

The Tigers booted three majors to two in the opening term then added two more while holding Adelaide goal-less to take a 14-point halftime lead, 5.0 to 2.4.

Martin was significant in that gap, his first half feats including three inside 50s and a goal – he finished the game with a team-high 28 touches.

The Tigers accelerated in the third quarter with four goals to one to effectively seal the result.

Richmond midfielder Shane Edwards made a seamless return in his first game since round five, with his 18 disposals featuring eight clearances.

Teammates Jack Graham (21 touches), Jake Aarts (two goals) and Jayden Short (20 possessions) were all influential.

Adelaide ruckman Reilly O’Brien capped his breakout season with 19 disposals, seven marks and 29 hitouts.

Midfielder Brad Crouch, now a free agent considering offers from rival clubs, gathered 27 disposals and eight clearances in what could be his last game for the Crows.

(C) AAP 2020

RICHMOND 3.0 5.0 9.5 12.5 (77)

ADELAIDE 2.2 2.4 3.5 4.9 (33)

Goals: Richmond: J Aarts 2 J Caddy 2 J Riewoldt 2 D Martin D Rioli J Castagna K Lambert K McIntosh M Chol. Adelaide: D Fogarty 2 S McAdam T Walker.

Umpires: Craig Fleer, Brent Wallace, Jamie Broadbent.

Venue: Adelaide Oval.